Q Tips – No-Fault State

Q Tips
Q Tips - No-Failt State
If you live in Florida, or spend enough time here, you will no doubt have heard the term “no-fault state,” but you may not realize what that means. It means YOU are responsible for your medical treatment regardless of who is at fault. Again, YOU, not the other driver, are responsible for the payment of your medical bills and any lost wages you suffer as a result of someone else’s negligence. This is why everyone who buys a Florida auto insurance policy is required to carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage. Minimum PIP pays for $10,000.00 of emergency medical treatment for injuries from a car crash so long as you visit a qualified doctor within 14 days of the crash. However, PIP only pays 80% of the bill, and once it has been used up, there is no more money to pay for remaining medical treatment. The remaining amounts are your responsibility.
So what do you do if you owe medical bills and need continuing treatment? First, you go after the other driver’s bodily injury liability (BI) limits. However, as Florida doesn’t require drivers carry BI coverage, what happens if the other person doesn’t have it or has too little of it to cover your medical bills? This is where YOU need to protect YOURSELF and buy Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UM) coverage. By having at least $100,000.00 of UM coverage available, you can protect yourself from being left with humongous medical bills and no way to pay them!
Please note: The law constantly changes, and you can't be 100% confident in the information provided above,
but feel free to call our offices with any questions: 1-800-332-1992.